2. Fringes of constant thickness.

Assume that the plate thickness is not constant (~ b, n = const).

Then in all the places of the plate, where the thickness b, and, hence, the path difference Δ are the same, there is one and the same result of the interference. This means that along some dark or light interference fringe formed on the surface, the thickness of the plates is the same.

 

Fringes of constant thickness located on the surface of the plate. When observed in white light bands will be painted so that the surface contains all the colors of the rainbow. Example bands of equal thickness: oil stains, soap film, etc.

 

 

3. Newton's rings.

Newton's rings - an example of fringes of constant thickness,. They occur when light is reflected from the contact with each other plane-thick glass plate and a plano-convex lens with a large radius of curvature. The role of a thin film of variable thickness b, the surface from which are reflected of the coherent wave, is a gap between the plate and the lens. Let the refractive index of the gap is n, the thickness at the point E is b. Parallel beam of light falls normally (i1 = 0 °) on a flat surface BC lenses and reflected from the top and bottom of the gap (from point E and F).

Find the radius of Newton's rings r.

The optical path difference between the rays reflected from the top and bottom of the gap is

                                    (n < ngl)

λ/2 accounts for the phase shift on π by reflection from an optically denser medium in point F.           

From the triangle ќ1D follows

Then

radius of Newton's rings for the reflected light..

radius of Newton's rings for transmitted light.

4. Coated optics.

The possibility of reducing the reflected light from the interference in thin films are widely used in modern optical devices (cameras, binoculars, periscopes, etc.). To do this on the front surface of the available lenses and prisms are applied in a thin transparent film, the absolute refractive index nf less nlens. The film thickness is chosen in such a way that carried out the interference minimum reflection for light with λ = 5.5 • 10-7 m, corresponding to the maximum sensitivity of the human eye (green). Such optics called coated. In reflected light, coated lenses appear colored in purple, as they are noticeably reflect only red and blue-violet light.
The most complete mutual extinction of the light waves reflected from the top and bottom surfaces of the coated film on the lens, is the case of equality of the intensities of these waves, ie, with approximate equality reflection coefficients.
When i1 = 0

 

Therefore, the optimal value nf

The minimum thickness of the film is from the condition Δ:

bmin при k = 0

b min

 

The diffraction of light.
§ 1 of the diffraction of light and the conditions for its observation.
Huygens-Fresnel principle


If on the way of the light waves are opaque bodies or screens with apertures, then rough observations show that these bodies, form a region of shadows. This area may be outlined geometrically, assuming that light travels in straight lines, the light rays are straight lines.

 

A more detailed observation shows that the light waves come into the geometric shadow, and the border between areas of light and shadow appear alternating high and low light, indicating some redistribution of light energy at this boundary. This rounding light waves borders opaque bodies to form an interference energy redistribution on different areas called diffraction waves. (Or, a phenomenon that occurs when light in a medium with sharp irregularities, called diffraction of light.)

Diffraction phenomenon can be explained by using the Huygens principle: each point of the space to which comes a wave motion (ie, the wave front) is a source of secondary waves, the envelope which gives the position of the wave front in the next moment
time. In a homogeneous medium secondary waves will be of a hemisphere, the direction of propagation of the secondary waves coincides with the direction of the primary wave.
Problem of the distribution of energy along the wave front can be solved using the Huygens-Fresnel principle:

a) Huygens' principle, b) the sources of secondary waves are coherent, c) dA amplitude oscillations excited at p. M secondary sources proportional to the ratio of the area dS of the wave surface area S to the distance r from it to point M, and depends on the angle α between the external normal to the wave surface and the direction of the element dS at M.

                                   (1)

K(φ) - proportionality factor depending on the angle φ.
When
φ = 0 K(φ) = max, at φ = π/2 K(φ) = 0.

The resulting field in point M is a superposition of waves (1), taken for the entire wave surface:

                                   (2)

-analytical account of the principle of Huygens - Fresnel.

 

 

To the list of lectures

Home

2. Полосы равной толщина.

Допустим, что толщина пластинки не постоянной (∼b, n = const).

Тогда во всех тех местах пластинки, где толщина b, а следовательно, и разность хода Δ одинаковы, наблюдается один и тот же результат интерференции. Это означает, что вдоль какой-либо темной или светлой интерференционной полосы, образующейся на поверхности, толщина этой пластинки одна и та же.

Полосы равной толщины локализованы на поверхности пластинки. При наблюдении в белом свете полосы будут окрашены так, что поверхность содержит все цвета радуги. Пример полос равной толщины: нефтяные пятна, мыльные пленки и т.д.

 

 

3. Кольца Ньютона.

Кольца Ньютона - пример полос равной, толщины. Они наблюдаются при отражении света.от соприкасающихся друг с другом плоско параллельной толстой стеклянной пластинки и плоско выпуклой линзы с большим радиусом кривизны. Роль тонкой пленки переменной толщины b, от поверхности которой отражаются когерентные волны, играет зазор между пластинкой и линзой. Пусть показатель преломлений зазора n, толщина в точке Е равна b. Параллельный пучок света падает       нормально (i1 = 0°) на плоскую поверхность ВС линзы и отражается от верхней и нижней поверхности зазора (от т. Е и F ). Найдем, радиус колец Ньютона r.

Оптическая разность хода между лучами, отраженными от верхней и нижней поверхности зазора равна

                                    (n < nст)

λ/2 учитывает сдвиг по фазе на  π при отражении от оптически более плотной среды в т. F.           

Из треугольника О1ДЕ следует

Тогда

радиус светлых колец Ньютона отраженного света

радиус колец Ньютона для отраженного света.

радиус темных колец Ньютона в проходящем свете

радиус колец Ньютона для проходящего света.

4. Просветленная оптика.

Возможность ослабления отраженного света вследствие интерференции в тонких пленках широко используется в современных оптических приборах (фотоаппаратах, биноклях, перископах и т.д.). Для этого на передние поверхности имеющихся в них линз и призм наносят тонкие прозрачные пленки, абсолютный показатель преломления которых nпл. меньше nлинзы. Толщина пленки подбирается таким образом, чтобы осуществлялся интерференционный минимум отражения для света с λ = 5,5·10-7 м, соответствующий наибольшей чувствительности человеческого глаза (зеленый свет). Такая оптика получила название просветленной. В отраженном свете просветленные линзы кажутся окрашенными в фиолетовый цвет, т.к. они заметно отражают только красный и сине-фиолетовый свет.

Наиболее полное взаимное гашение световых волн, отраженных от верхней и нижней поверхностей пленки на просветленной линзе, происходит в случае равенства интенсивностей этих волн, т.е. при приблизительном равенстве коэффициентов отражения. При i1= 0

Следовательно, оптимальное значение nпл

Минимальная толщина пленки находится из условия минимума Δ:

bmin при k = 0

 

Дифракция света.

§1 Дифракция света и условия ее наблюдения.

Принцип Гюйгенса-Френеля


Если на пути световой волны находятся непрозрачные тела или экраны с отверстиями, то грубые наблюдения показывают, что за этими телами образуется область тени. Эту область можно очертить геометрически, полагая, что свет распространяется прямолинейно, световые лучи есть прямые линии.

 

Более детальное наблюдение показывает, что световые волны заходят в область геометрической тени, причём на границе между областями света и тени появляются чередующиеся максимумы и минимумы света, свидетельствующие о некотором перераспределении световой энергии на этой границе. Это огибание световыми волнами границ непрозрачных тел е образованием интерференционного перераспределения энергии по
различным направлениям называется дифракцией волны. (Или: Явление, возникающие при
распространении света в среде с резкими неоднородностями, называется дифракцией света.)

Явление дифракции можно объяснить, пользуясь принципом Гюйгенса: каждая точка пространства до которой доходит волновое движение (т.е. фронт волны) является источником вторичных волн, огибающая которых дает положение фронта волны в следующий момент
времени. В однородной среде вторичные волны будут представлять полусферы, направления распространения вторичных волн совпадает с  направлением распространения первичной волны.
Задачу о распределении энергии вдоль фронта волны можно решить воспользовавшись принципом Гюйгенса-Френеля:

а) принцип Гюйгенса; б) источники вторичных волн когерентны; в)
амплитуда
dA колебаний, возбуждаемых в точке М вторичным источником,
пропорциональна отношению площади
dS участка волновой поверхности
S к расстоянию r от него до т. М, и зависит от угла α между внешней нормалью к волновой поверхности и направлением от элемента dS в точку М.

                                   (1)

K(φ) - коэффициент пропорциональности, зависящий от угла φ.

При φ = 0 K(φ) = max, при φ = π/2 K(φ) = 0.

Результирующее поле в т. М представляет собой суперпозицию колебаний (1), взятых для всей волновой поверхности:

                                   (2)

- аналитическая запись принципа Гюйгенса - Френеля.

 

 

К списку лекций

Главная